501st hopeful in the wings!

New forum users, please introduce yourselves here. MWG members can answer most questions you may have.

Moderator: Garrison Officers

Solcar23
MWG Member
MWG Member
4poziom.waw.pl
501st Legion ID: 5924

501st hopeful in the wings!

Post by Solcar23 »

Hi everyone!
My name is Carlos Mendoza and I'm located in Wrigleyville in Chicago. I am a veteran SF scale model builder and enjoy collecting items from Star Wars, Doctor Who and currently i'm collecting and playing several Steve Jackson Games and Fantasy Flight games (Munchkin/Arkham Horror mostly). I'm just an all around collecting and Sci-Fi/Fantasy nut!

I've been planning my build for about 5 months at this point and have acquired just about everything I'll need to begin. I have an ATA kit and a Doopy's resin E-11 blaster that I'm working on now as well as just about everything else to go with and complete the armor. I also have several threads going over on FISD where I've been able to do a ton of research and get the arsenal together!

My goal is to have my kit ready for summer, get EIB status (possibly Centurion too) then go for the MWG/501st approval.

My interest in going in the TK direction began when my buddy and LeapFrog toy designer Joe McCarthy decided to build himself a Sandtrooper. I was amazed at how absolutely cool it looked on him and the stories he told me about trooping with members of the 501st! Unfortunately Joe moved to Oakland so I can't ogle his suit any longer but he's been a great resource through Facebook on getting started.